About Our Organization

Our Members

Our DarkSky Colorado members are part of the global organization DarkSky International (formerly known as the “International Dark-sky Association”).

We have a Board of Directors, an Executive Director, and members who contribute in many other ways. 



DarkSky Colorado logo

Our Leaders

Board of Directors for 2023

Administrative Leaders

Aaron Watson, Board Chair

Sarah Tober, Interim Executive Director

Dani Robben, Interim Treasurer

Martie Semmer, Secretary

Richard OBrien, Webmaster and Newsletter Editor

Regional Coordinators

Western Colorado Region

   Martie Semmer, Blue River

Southeastern Colorado Region

   Doug Barrett, Colorado Springs

Denver-Central Colorado Region

   Ryan Parker, Castle Pines

Northeastern Colorado Region

   Richard OBrien, Boulder

DarkSky Colorado Regions

Dark Sky Place Mentors

Applications open soon for Dark Sky Place Mentors to consult with a potential Dark Sky Place applicant in 2024. 

Our Funding

DarkSky Colorado is part of DarkSky International.  Membership is through the global organization’s website.

DarkSky members with a Colorado mailing address are automatically part of the Colorado chapter, and get our monthly newsletter and other benefits.   

Give to the Colorado chapter

The Colorado chapter is a Colorado nonprofit corporation, with 501(c)(3) status from the Internal Revenue Service. 

Gifts to the Colorado chapter go toward dark-sky projects in Colorado.  Give now at Colorado Gives!

Scroll to Top